Nei, gifta deg jenta (Norwegian traditional song)

This shall be the first of a series of posts I am very excited about. I’ve always been fascinated by folk music from all lands, and especially from celtic and nordic countries. Therefore I will post every once in a while a folk song that I appreciate, hoping to create a collection that I can consult whenever I feel like it.

These days I am learning mostly Norwegian folk songs, as I am staying in Norway and I am taking a Nynorsk course which gives an interesting insight into the Norwegian tradition. The following song is written in the Sogn dialect (that is often compared to Icelandic rather than Norwegian Bokmål) and was written by a feminist. I have some translation notes, but I’m not sure to post them, because they are quite messy and they don’t cover the whole translation.

I learned to dance it this way: two step to the left, one to the right, then up on your toes, and repeat again. I don’t know if this was just made up by my professor, but it was nice to do and I’d like to remember it.

Here it goes:

Nei, gifta deg jenta, da raor eg deg ifrao
Byssan lullan, lullan, lullan lullan lai
Kjem dar eit mannabein, du mao ‘kje bita pao
Byssan lullan, lullan lai

Somme e lure og slue og rao
Byssan lullan, lullan, lullan lullan lai
Andre e ubjaodeleg og vanskeleg fystao
Byssan lullan, lullan lai

Somme er nett som ein jokel å ta pao
Byssan lullan, lullan, lullan lullan lai
Andre vil deg berre under fedl at fao
Byssan lullan, lullan lai

Some er nett som ein hesjastaur å sjao
Byssan lullan, lullan, lullan lullan lai
Andre e ronde, kan ofta tridla tao
Byssan lullan, lullan lai

Somme ha ilt fy å fao fa til å gao
Byssan lullan, lullan, lullan lullan lai
Andre treng du berre kitla litevetta pao
Byssan lullan, lullan lai

So gifta deg jenta, da raor eg deg ifrao
Byssan lullan, lullan, lullan lullan lai
Da vert ikkje onnort enn naui å fao
Byssan lullan, lullan lai

Leave a Reply

